University of Economics – Varna

Scientific Cooperation

International Network of Customs Universities (INCU) is an international not for profit organisation established to:

  • promote the academic standing of the customs profession
  • promote academic excellence in customs matters
  • support research in customs matters
  • generate greater public awareness of the Customs profession
  • promote the collective interests of its members
  • provide the World Customs Organization and other organisations with a single point of contact with universities and research institutes that are active in the field of customs research, education and training
  • organise academic conferences
  • provide a global resource for governments and the private sector, and an educational source for students wishing to further their knowledge in the field of customs, international trade, and logistics

The partnership of the University of Economics – Varna in the International Network of Customs Universities (INCU) aims at providing:

  • connection with specialists and scientists, members of the network
  • opportunities to present the University of Economics – Varna’s courses, related to customs activities, research activities and achievements of students and academic staff
  • access to current information (news, announcements, invitations to conferences and other events)
  • opportunity to participate in seminars, conferences, workshops and other INCU events and activities free of charge or at preferential rates
  • official certificate of the University of Economics – Varna’s membership, indicating the status of the partner
  • permission to use the official INCU logo in the website and/or social network of the University of Economics – Varna, in order to indicate its status of a partner in INCU/li>
  • free access to digital copies of all editions of World Customs Journal and other publications to which INCU is subscribed.

The University of Economics - Varna is a member of the Association of South Eastern Europe Economic Universities.

On November 1996, after the appropriate preparatory work, the Rector of University of Macedonia, Thessaloniki, Greece, Professor Yannis Tsekouras, took the initiative to invite in Thessaloniki Rectors of Economic Universities, Heads of Economic Departments and Deans of Economic Faculties so as to establish the Association of South Eastern Europe Economic Universities (ASECU). The invitation was sent to Universities of Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Greece, Romania and Yugoslavia.

The aim of the Association is to promote the interests of the Economic Universities of South and Eastern Europe and of the Black Sea Region, which are public, recognised or financed by the state of origin. The specific aims of the Association are:

  • to promote cooperation between Economic Universities, Faculties, Departments; i.e., especially:
    • to exchange views and information about syllabi
    • to exchange undergraduate and postgraduate students and
    • to exchange teaching and research staff;
  • to provide members with the opportunity to exchange information, opinions etc. by publishing a relevant scientific journal or by cooperation in elaborating scientific studies in relation to the future development of higher education and research as well as to improve their quality in the field of economic studies and business administration;
  • to undertake initiatives for the protection of the interests of members and their institutions, so as to be supported by international organisations and in particular by the higher education institutions of the European Union;
  • to encourage cooperation between universities inside and outside the countries referred to in the Association.
  • to pursue cooperation in the field of higher education with the consolidation of close relations with other organisations having similar aims, e.g. E.U.A.
  • to provide opportunities for harmonising the degrees of faculties and departments of the universities participating in the Association;
  • to promote cooperation between economic universities, faculties, departments in the field of research for the benefit of the economy, the society, peace and the cultural development of the countries referred to the Association.